In a setback on Wednesday, the ruling BJP-JJP combine in Haryana could win only one of three mayoral seats for which elections were held recently. The mayoral elections in the cities of Ambala, Panchkula and Sonipat were held on Sunday. While the BJP struggled to win in Panchkula, the Congress and the Haryana Jan Chetna Party (HJCP) bagged mayoral posts in Sonipat and Ambala, respectively. It was for the first time that direct elections were held for mayoral posts in the three cities. The setback for the ruling coalition has come in the wake of the BJP sweeping mayors polls in five Haryana cities two years ago. In 2018, the party had won mayoral polls in Hisar, Karnal, Panipat, Rohtak and Yamunanagar. In November this year, the ruling combine had failed to win the Baroda assembly bypolls in Sonipat, with the Congress retaining the seat. For the post of mayor in Ambala, HJCP The Congress candidate ended up at the fourth spot, officials said. The win came as a boost to the Venod Sharma-led party, which tasted its first win after the 2014 Haryana assembly poll debacle. Shakti Rani Sharma said her victory was due to people When one Kulbushan Goyal of the BJP will be Panchkula He defeated Congress For the elections to the mayor The Congress won the Sonipat mayoral polls. The party Polls were also held to elect councilors of all wards in the three cities. Voting was also held to elect the president and members of the municipal council in Rewari and the municipal committees of In the Ambala MC polls, the BJP won eight of the 20 seats, HJCP 7, Congress 3 and Haryana Democratic Front 2. In Sonipat, the BJP won 10 wards and the Congress 9. On one seat, an Independent emerged victorious. In Panchkula, the BJP and the Congress won nine and seven seats, respectively. The JJP won two. The post of the Rewari municipal council chairperson was bagged by BJP The Congress slipped to the third spot here. The BJP-JJP combine failed to bag posts of president in three municipal committees of Dharuhera, Sampla Kanwar Singh won from Dharuhera, defeating another Independent candidate Deena Ram. In Sampla, Pooja defeated BJP