West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021: Former Rajya Sabha MP and Trinamool Congress leader Dinesh Trivedi today joined the BJP in the presence of the partys national president JP Nadda in New Delhi. Trivedi has joined the saffron party at a crucial time when Bengal is going to assembly polls. Union Minister Piyush Goyal was also present during the occasion. Notably, Trivedi has resigned from the Rajya Sabha on February 12th citing violence in West Bengal. I was waiting for this moment. We are in a public space to serve the people. However, in some parties (TMC\/Congress), the family is most important and then there is a party that considers people as its family. Today, I have joined a family of people, said Trivedi after joining the party. Trivedi said that in other parties, leaders serve a family, not the country. In other parties, leaders serve a family and I dont know whether they serve the people or not. I have never left my ideology wherever I was. For me, the nation comes first and will always be my first priority, said Trivedi addressing the media. I have many friends in the Air Force. Sometimes we come to know something which is not in the public domain. They told me that our neighbouring country (Pakistan) has started taking India very seriously nowadays. Our neighbours now say that India does what it says, Trivedi told the media. Trivedi attacked the TMC for the culture of violence. We (Bengalis) are fed up with the corruption and violence carried out by the TMC. The pride of Bengal, the journey of Sonar Bangla has begun. People of Bengal are happy that a real change is going to happen, said the former Rajya Sabha MP. Its not yet clear whether he will contest the polls or not. Ill be active in election process, irrespective of whether I contest or not. West Bengal has rejected TMC. They want progress, not corruption or violence. Theyre ready for real change. Politics isnt a khela. Mamata Banerjee has forgotten her ideals, alleged Trivedi. Elections in the West Bengal will be held in eight phases starting March 27 and will end on April 29. The results for the 294-member assembly will be declared on May 2.