Karnataka Gram Panchayat Election Results 2020 HIGHLIGHTS: Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa today said that the emphatic victory of BJP supported candidates in panchayat polls in the state is a testimony of peoples unwavering faith in the leadership and development agenda of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJPs commitment towards Gram Vikas and Antyodaya. He said that 60 per cent of seats have been won by BJP-backed candidates. BJP and Congress both have claimed victory in panchayat elections. As per reports, BJP-backed candidates have won 29,478 seats while the Congress-supported candidates have bagged 24560. The JD(S) candidates have won 15,825 panchayat seats. ALSO READ | Farmers are against anti-farmer laws and they found Gram Panchayat elections as the perfect opportunity to teach BJP a lesson. Reports suggest that Congress Karnataka supported candidates are winning, he said. Senior BJP leader P Muralidhar Rao called it a thumping victory for Karnataka BJP in Gram Panchayat elections. If there is any farmer friendly party in d country, that is BJP. People of rural Karnataka have chosen BJP. Kudos to CM Sh @BSYBJP, State President Sh @nalinkateel all karyakartas. Congratulations to all d winners, he said. For over 70,000 seats spread across 5,728 villages, the counting began at 8 AM on Wednesday These constituencies had gone to polls in two phases, December 22 and 27. Ballot papers were used for the panchayat election except for one district, Bidar – where EVMs were used. “,”headline”: “Karnataka Gram Panchayat Election Results 2020 HIGHLIGHTS: BJP has won 3,600 gram panchayats, says CM BSYediyurappa